Alumni Newswatch

Homecoming weekend is fun just with football, the parade and seeing old friends….but when you throw in some awesome alums, it is even better. Last weekend, I had the privilege of working with some broadcast professionals on the first alumni “Newswatch” ever. And it was one of the most exciting news environments I have ever had the opportunity to work in. All the alums were exchanging stories, laughing and filling the newsroom with more noise than I have ever witnessed.

I got to go out with a former WOUBer, work on a story for the day and then go live from Peden Stadium. I learned so much from alums in little ways. I think the best advice I got was even if you aren’t sure if you want to do the news, just try it. You don’t have to have your life all figured out, you never will. And if you don’t like being a reporter or producer, all will not be lost, you can reinvent yourself!

After a very long day, I have to say I would do it again in a heartbeat. I hope WOUB continues to make Alumni Newswatch an annual event.

-Kristi Ludlow

Leave a Reply

